Getting me to Jump:Twitter and #edchat


I have been putting off blogging for so many different reasons. In reality, the reasons are excuses. I want my students to blog so why can I not get myself to commit to writing one myself. We should be models for our students. Alas, here is my first post.

I feel so lucky to have co-workers who are engaged in technology. They have inspired me to reach outside of my comfort zone to try something new. I was introduced to twitter in the fall but only started to understand the power of twitter this spring. Through #edchat and other wonderful educators online, I have felt inspired every day at work. I have also enjoyed many resources through the Educators PLN on Ning. For the first couple of weeks, I didn’t even know what PLN meant. Through the guidance of others I have learned so many tools sometimes it is overwhelming. It is not just the tools or programs but the love of learning that I feel from the educators who use twitter. I have talked to my colleagues about twitter…with many glazed looks and puzzled reactions. I continue to speak with them about it because how it has transformed me as a teacher/life long learner. I had forgotten how fun it can be to learn.

It is intimidating to sometimes share ideas or collaborate with others. I fear I will be judged or critiqued for my lack of experience (with technology.) But the rewards have been amazing. My latest goal is to attend the ISTE conference in Denver. I would definitly be a rookie in the field but one who would appreciate all the networking. We’ll see if it works for us this summer. If not, I do see myself attending virtually with the help of my new PLN.

Finally, I would like to say thank you to all the educational professionals who have been so supportive and have opened up their philosophies to me and the world.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mike
    May 27, 2010 @ 21:05:56

    I think you speak for many others about how you have realized the power of Twitter, PLN’s, and Networking. I think for many it does give new life to teaching/education again. Congratulations on the new Blog and I am glad that you are inspired.

    GOOD LUCK!!!

    Reply

  2. Carey Pohanka
    May 27, 2010 @ 21:23:51

    Congrats on starting your blog. I thought the first post was the most difficult to write.

    Felicitations!

    Carey

    Reply

    • profhutch
      May 28, 2010 @ 18:05:49

      Merci beaucoup!!! I am hoping to extend my PLN to more French teachers and educational professionals in French-speaking countries. What is your blog? I’d love to read it.

      Reply

  3. Doreen
    May 27, 2010 @ 21:58:55

    I know just how you feel. I’ve always loved tech, but was really unaware how much valuable interactions were happening on Twitter. When I tell people I work with how I can’t wait to get on Twitter to see what resources someone will post or what I might learn, they look at me like I have an extra head or something. Oh well. I’ll keep preaching, if they don’t get in on the action, their loss! Keep on learning!
    @DoeMiSo

    Reply

    • profhutch
      May 28, 2010 @ 18:01:58

      Thanks for sharing. I really do feel connected to many educators on Twitter. I feel so lucky to have learned so much this year! Thanks for taking the time to post!

      Reply

  4. Cybrary Man - Jerry Blumengarten
    May 27, 2010 @ 23:26:13

    Congratulations on your first blog. You have to start somewhere and the first step is always the hardest. In the 1980’s while on the Internet it was just me and the techies speaking of intimidation. But, I persevered and literally taught myself how to use a computer. It is a learning process. As I always told my colleagues there is no such thing as a stupid question.

    I proudly added your blog to my Educational Blogs page:
    http://cybraryman.com/blogs.html

    Reply

    • profhutch
      May 28, 2010 @ 18:04:32

      Thanks for adding my blog!Your resources are amazing…it’s my summer project to explore your websites. I am very motivated to keep sharing and learning with others.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

