Reflection vs. Reaction Goal #27


Looking deeply at ourselves vs Reacting on emotions. As part of Shelly Terrell’s #30 goals, this goal lends itself to reflection. It is a pivitol insight to positive and influential teaching. Do I react in my classroom on emotions or do I try to find out reasons why a situation is happening? When I fail in a lesson, do I get angry or defensive or do I reflect on reasons why it failed or how to improve the lesson for the future? I would like to think the latter but the reality is my own humanity. There are times when I know I have not been prepared enough and fail in the process. I’ve also allowed my ego in my teaching make me defensive or upset. I have justified my failures through a multitude of excuses. However, I know I have also tried to reflect on my teaching and my overall philosophy of teaching to improve how I teach and learn with my students.  I have continue this process of reflection to make myself a better teacher every day.

In the past I have taped myself teaching to see how I am reacting in a class that was challenging for me. I hope to continue this practice because it helps me to see how I can improve but also what is working. Different teachers in my professional learning network have shared how they stream their classes live for the parents. How awesome! I know there is concerns on safety…but the possibility to be so open with your classroom is outstanding. Now…how do I help students reflect instead of react?

All educators must teach more than content. I love the French language. I love speaking French. Most importantly, I love making connections with French people and sharing in their culture. Beyond all of the elements of language learning, I hope my students learn many different life skills. One of these skills is learning how to understand who we are and where we have come from. Once we understand this, we are able to comprehend why we act the way we do. My parents raised me in a way that I can understand the difference between the two processes of reflection and reaction. Do I fail? Do I falter? Absolutely. But, I try my best to reflect on my teaching…and how can I better meet the needs of my students. With my students, I see them reacting all the time. Reacting to another peer, a teacher or an administrator. It is my job to help students reflect about these experiences before they react. This past year, students were unhappy with a teacher. They reacted to the situation on Facebook. They said some hurtful things in their reactions that were made public to the world. It is my job to help students understand the powers of the internet and to understand positive digital citizenship. If the students would have reflected, they might not have made those same remarks online.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bella of Tuition Centre in Penang
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 13:54:04

    What a wonderful post, intriguing and mind opening. Got me thinking about how I can use this in my own life.

    Reply

  2. Shelly Sanchez Terrell
    Oct 19, 2010 @ 05:13:11

    Hello Cecilia,

    Recently I took a teacher training course in Greece. Every lesson was evaluated by my peers and my tutor. It was really tough but it does help you grow and reflect. When I graduated from the program I reflected on the process of being evaluated. It’s really tough to hear and see what your classroom teaching looks like but it does help us become better! Congratulations on being almost there!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

